Mexican Academy of Sciences

 G-Science Group


The group of countries with the most powerful economies in the world is known as the G8 Group. The group holds a summit each year where it discusses issues that affect all the countries. The eight member-countries of the G8 Group are: Canada, The United States, France, Italy, Germany, Japan, England, and Russia.


The academies of science in these countries met to draft proposals and documents on science, technology and innovation for their countries to take to the Summit, where their efforts in collaborating in the solution of global problems could be endorsed by the corresponding authorities.


This group of academies decided to invite five academies from emerging economies, including Brazil, China, India, Mexico and South Africa, to participate. This is how the G8 Group+5 Academy of Science was formed.


The AMC has participated in the activities organized by the G8 Group+5, attending meetings and drawing up declarations on various topics to be taken to the G8+5 authorities. The issues that have been addressed to date include: global health, energy, climate change, sustainability and innovation.